top of page
  • Dania Fatima

When I was about eleven...

By: Dania Fatima


When I was about eleven, I found out that I had celiac disease. I couldn’t consume most whole grains except for maize, buckwheat, almond, and coconut flour. Initially, I couldn’t face my fears of the reactions that wheat consumption might cause, which led me to become insecure and anti-social. I refrained from participating in social activities, fearing unconsciousness or brain fog and worrying about how others would perceive me. Dealing with questions, particularly from people of my cultural background, was the most challenging. They’d inquire how I could survive without staple foods or live a normal life like others. These questions made me overthink even the smallest interactions. Over the years, I’ve learned to embrace my gluten intolerance, overcoming my allergies by changing my lifestyle and managing precautions to prevent severe reactions, such as seizures. Now, I’m bold and confident enough to engage in any social activity, whether it’s hanging out

with friends or walking the ramp. In this illustration, I aim to depict life with celiac disease, highlighting that it doesn’t halt life or signify the end of the world due to allergies. While adapting to a new lifestyle initially seems challenging, eventually, the things once craved become insignificant. Overcoming my illness was a dream I relentlessly pursued, and now, having conquered it, I've discovered a newfound strength within myself.




Introducing Dania Fatima; currently doing bachelors of fashion and textile designing from TMUC is highly dedicated towards her career. An entrepreneur only at 20 Dania runs an online business based on contemporary clothing. She’s all about building her own business, definition of girl boss.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page